Artist: Nathaniel Paderanga
Exhibition: Social
Media: Oil on Canvas
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Dr. Maxine Merlin Gallerey
Website: N/A
Instagram: THEARTOFNATE_

Nathaniel Paderanga is a senior at CSULB who is going to be graduating with a BFA in drawing and painting. Paderanga has been painting since he was eighteen. He originally was going to get a degree in kinesiology but decided his passion was in painting so he switched majors. He also told me about his process. He first starts with getting pictures from around the city in different areas. He then draws a sketch using the pictures as inspiration. He then finally paints the full image on the canvas.

Panderanga’s paintings fall into a sort of realistic style that depict a scene. My favorite painting by Panderanga was the Get Together piece because it really shows off the way people hang out nowadays and it is odd. Panderanga uses this realistic style so that you can picture what the actual scene would look like in real life. It uses lines and curves just like in real life so that it can more closely resemble life.

When talking to Panderanga about the Get Together piece he said he was trying to capture how people hang out in our society today. He says people are never in the moment they are always on their phones or distracting themselves from other people who they are supposed to be hanging out with. The other piece I talked to him about was the White House second from the Corer. In This pieces Panderanga tried to capture the house he grew up in when it was at its prime. He said that his cousin still owns the house but it is now run down and a mess.

Panderanga’s piece Get Together really stood out to me because I see it all the time, people not communicating with each other. When I hang out with my friends we are all always on our phones for some reason or another and we don’t really spend time with each other. I also really liked the White House second from the Corner piece because it reminded me of what my home used to look like and what it looks like now. Overall I really enjoyed Panderanga’s Exhibit I thought the paintings were very well done and that he is a talented kid with a bright future in painting ahead of him.

